



INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON PUBLIC HEALTH IN AFRICA CPHIA 2021

REGISTRATION NOW OPEN: CPHIA2021.COM

The 1st International Conference on Public Health in Africa (CPHIA 2021) comes at a critical time on the continent and in the world. COVID-19 has strained health systems globally, and with perilously limited access to vaccines across Africa, it has laid bare deep inequities in access to healthcare and scientific innovations. African countries are facing significant numbers of COVID-19 cases, in addition to widespread negative impacts on endemic disease programmes, food security, gender-based violence and economic wellbeing. Urgent action must be taken across Africa to fuel innovation and build resilient health systems capable of addressing multiple threats.

CPHIA will create a unique platform where African researchers, policymakers and stakeholders can share perspectives and research findings in public health, while ushering in a new era of strengthened scientific collaboration and innovation across the continent. This will become an annual scientific conference, hosted by the Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention.

CONFERENCE TRACKS

- Epidemiology of SARS-COV-2, virology, prevention and clinical
- Vaccine advocacy, production and distribution 2
- A new public health order for Africa in the context of public health emergency
- Assessing the response to COVID-19 in Africa to prepare for future health threats
- COVID-19 and equitable health system strengthening in Africa
- Digitalisation, modelling and analytics to support an effective public health response to the COVID-19 pandemic
- Agenda 2063: whole-of-society private sector, community and leadership - approach in combatting COVID-19 and other emerging diseases

CONFERENCE FORMAT

A mix of plenary remarks, panel presentations and interactive sessions including roundtable discussions, symposia and more to support dynamic engagement and learning in a virtual format.

For further information and queries, please contact

Dr Nicaise Ndembi at NicaiseN@africa-union.org

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Agnes Binagwaho (Co-Chair) Senait Fisseha (Co-Chair) John Nkengasong Maaroufi Abderrahmane

Mohammed Abdulaziz

Tomori Adewale Aggrey Ambali

William Ampofo John Amuasi

Abraham Anang

Simon Antara

Merawi Aragaw Patricia Ayanbadejo

Daniel Bausch Moses Bockarie

Luc Armand Bodea

Nissaf Bouafif Souha Bougatef

Manhattan Charurat Trevor Crowell Ames Dhai

Benjamin Djoudalbaye

Seun Esan James Eustache

Echezona Edozie Ezeanolue

Adama Gansane Githinji Gitahi

Glenda Gray Nekerwon Gweh

Christian Happi David Hevmann Ehimario Igumbor Chikwe Ihekweazu

Michael Iroezindu Ilesh Jani Peter Kebila

Pontiano Kaleebu

Salim Abdool Karim

Francois-Xavier Mbopi Keou

Philippe Lemey Justin Maeda

Michael Makanga

Kevin Marsh **Kedest Mathewos**

Natalie Mayet Placide Mbala

Georges Alain Etoundi Mballa

Yvonne Mburu Martin Muita Victor Mukonka Wynne Musabayana Nicaise Ndembi

Saint Thomas Ngbonga-Zindoteala

Lolem Ngong Francine Ntoumi Chinwe Ochu Iruka Okeke Ebere Okereke Pascale Ondoa Ahmed Oawell Ouma

Zahra Parker **Andrew Rambaut**

Helen Rees Amadou Alpha Sall

Magda Robalo Correia E Silva

Raji Tajudeen

Yenew Kebede Tebeje Alain Tehindrazanarivelo

Amit Thakker Krishna Udayakumar Morenike Ukpong Monique Wasunna Deborah Watson-Jones Alimuddin Zumla